I Don’t Know???

It occurred to me last night while I was painting, I don’t know a lot of things that seemed so clear a few months back. I can no longer say with certainty where this great country is going. We have as leader a young man with no leadership experience who seems hell bent for leather to destroy our American way of life. When I graduated from college…..  Oops, I realize I need to tell you I am a college graduate, you probably would not know since I mangle the English language.  When I got out of college there the American Dream was, waiting for me. I knew if I busted my tail, didn’t spend recklessly and treated people right, I would make it. When I walked across the stage and got that sheet of paper, I never had an ounce of doubt that the American Dream was alive and waiting for me to take my share.

I don’t know why the media is so reluctant to admit that it was a Muslim committing jihad who murdered the two soldiers in Little Rock, Arkansas. He was a recent convert to the Muslim faith. I don’t know, but I suspect he is a jail house convert. His name was Carlos Bledsoe until he converted. Now he is called, Abduihakim Mujahid Muhammod.  He is 23 years old and learned his hate in a Muslim mosque.  One brave soldier is dead and a second critically wounded.  I don’t know why the media is treating this like a drive by shooting. This is a clear act of terrorism. This is an excellent reason why not to bring those seasoned terrorists from Gitmo to American prisons. There are a lot of Carlos Bledsoe’s out there waiting to become jihadists.

I don’t know why our president doesn’t see these jail house converts as a real threats.  Rather he focuses on right wing, bible toting, hard working citizens. He fears us more than he does a jihadist like Carlos. Carlos is just the tip of the iceberg. I don’t know why no one is speaking out against the radical Muslims.  Do you?

I was in our local Dairy Queen and it was my lucky day. My old rancher friend was helping a neighbor dip some cattle and was not there to pester me. I recognized two kids I thought were about to graduate from college. One went to Bryan-College Station A&M and the other at A&M Kingsville.  They were sitting in a booth, so I invited myself to have a seat. Both were polite, calling me Mr. Cooper. Made me feel as old as Moses.

I innocently asked, “What are you boys going to do now that you have your sheepskin?”  Blank faces looked back at me. The kid going to Bryan-College Station A&M answered with almost defeat in his voice, “Mr. Cooper, I don’t know.’

“What did you major in?”  I inquired, hoping that would help.

“Petroleum Engineering. With everything going green fossil fuel companies are not hiring. I would help at the ranch, but dad is talking about selling off the rest of the livestock. With the drought, it’s been really hard for him to earn a profit.”

This is something I did know about. I know what a struggle ranch life has been during this prolonged drought. I looked at the other boy, “Son,” I asked, “What are your plans?”

“Mr. Cooper, I have to find a job. Mom and dad are struggling to keep the farm. I don’t want to continue to be a burden on them. I played football in college, but you see my size. No one in the NFL wants a small, slow white guy.”  He grinned and we joined him laughing.

I started to give my This is America and you can reach your dreams speech. For the first time in my life, I didn’t think my speech was appropriate. What dream do they have? Their children will be working to pay off the debt Barry Soetoro has already built up. I had to admit to myself, I DON”T KNOW.  I got a wheezy feeling in the pit of my stomach. I guess this is the first time I acknowledged what this new president has done to young Americans.

These boys don’t mind serving their country.  They carry the love of America in their hearts. But they don’t want to be part of some brown shirt bunch for Barry. They want to be part of what you and I faced when we got out of school. They want their piece of the pie. But, if there is no pie, there can be no pieces.

I asked how savvy they were with computers. Now that was a stupid question. All young people know computers as a second language. I suggested, “Why don’t you two join together and become a business?  You have been best friends since kindergarten. You are each very bright. There is plenty of empty space in town and I’m sure some landlord would almost give you one of their buildings just to have it occupied. ‘

“Mr. Cooper, what can we do? We don’t have any business background. We have never run anything.”

“Good point, but neither does the president. He has no business background and has never run anything, but Monday he took over 60% control of General Motors.  Now it’s called Government Motors.  My thoughts are you become an eBay consignment store. People can bring items to you and for a % of the sale you will take the photos, do the copy and list the item for auction. There is also Craiglist and http://www.etsy.com you can sell stuff on.  We live in an area where there are tons of garage sales. At those garage sales, people sell things of value not knowing what they have.  If you made a business of selling online, in no time you would be able to spot super pieces.

We explored the idea for forty five minutes. You could see the wheels turning. Then the kid who played football admitted, “Mr. Cooper, I don’t know if we can get enough money to even entertain that idea. There would be some expense up front, like getting lights turned on and a deposit on a space. I think it’s a great idea. We each have junk we need to sell.”

I let them talk and then I asked, “If I loaned you $1,000 would that be enough to jump start your company?”

They were speechless and then, like typical Texans told me they couldn’t take my money. I could see they really wanted to give the online idea  a try.

“Men, this is not a gift. It’s a loan and I want 4% interest on my money. You have one year to pay me back. The old JC Penny mail order space has been vacant for several years. I suspect the old man that owns that building will let you in there for $100 a month.”

I don’t know if they can make it. I don’t know much any more. I don’t know what new anti-American thing is going to come from the president’s mouth next.  I don’t know what he is going to give the Arabs when he meets with them. I don’t know what else he will do to destroy my America.

I don’t know when I can find time just to deal with all the new stuff coming from Washington each day. I don’t know how we can get a fair census report with ACORN helping with the findings. I don’t know if I can even buy a big truck five years from now.

One thing I’m certain of, Christ Jesus is Lord and He will return…but when?  I don’t know.

That’s all for tonight, Will Cooper <><

Leave a Reply

