Hate

The Louisiana Purchase of 1803

HATE  is such a hard word.  People say they hate, but in most cases they mean they don’t like someone or something.  It’s hard to hate. I never found hate toward the young drunk men who crossed the median, killing my wife and unborn son.  Revenge never entered my mind.  I found myself praying for their mothers and fathers who bore the shame and hurt of knowing their sons had caused the death of a beautiful girl and unborn baby.  Those who hate pull that ugly emotion into their soul and it destroys all hope of love and happiness.

We on the right have been accused of hating the president.  I can’t speak for others, but I’ve never met the man and have no reason to hate him.  I’m very unhappy with the direction this country is going under his leadership.  I think sometimes we use the word hate to express extreme dislike. I may say I hate calamari even though I’ve never tasted it.  There is a post script to this, I’m not going to taste it.  (smile) 

I definitely don’t like what’s going on in this health care bill.  Giving $300 Million of taxpayers’ money to get the Louisiana vote is insane.  Let me give you a little history lesson. The Great Napoleon Bonaparte was bogged down in debt and stuck in the Caribbean Islands.  He sent a message to president Thomas Jefferson that he wanted to do a little deal.  He wanted to sell some French land to help him fund his war.  This little chunk of land just happened to come to be known as the Louisiana Purchase of 1803. 

Jefferson had great reservations.  He was not sure how that would affect states’ rights. He was for states’ sovereignty.  As the deal unfolded Jefferson found Bonaparte wanted $11.2 Million and to have a $3.7 Million of debt retired.  That amounted to about 3 cents per acre. Here is the staggering part.  The Louisiana Purchased covered 828,800 square miles. It spread from the Gulf of Mexico including Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, parts of Minnesota, most of North Dakota, all of South Dakota, Montana, Wyoming, and most of Colorado. 

When we stop and look what the original Louisiana Purchase did for America it’s easy to become disgusted with the cost of this one vote.  That one vote cost twenty times the Louisiana Purchase when you bring the original cost to today’s dollars. 

I don’t hate Obama, but I strongly disapprove of the way he is running our country.  I pray he is not harmed in office or when he leaves office.  This would rip our country asunder. There are several different groups trying to impeach the president and Speaker of the House.  Save the ink.  There will be no impeachment.  Those filing to see the birth certificate can save the paper, it ain’t goin’ to happen.  No Federal Judge is going to be the one to make the call to have the president removed from office.  Yes, I’d like to see the real birth certificate. Yes, I’d like to see some of his school records.  A Colombia law graduate who was in school the same years as the president said he couldn’t find any pictures of him in her year book and never remembered seeing him on campus.  Was he in school at Colombia?  We don’t know because there are no records. There are no papers that he has written available for us to read.

There is a vitriolic, acid hate of Sarah Palin.  The emotions are stronger than dislike…some on the left HATE Sarah.  I suspect they have never met her. How can you hate someone you don’t know?   

Am I afraid of president Obama?  You are darn right I am. I know what he can do to our country in three more years.  Our best hope is to regain power in 2010 and then keep a lid on things until we can elect a new president. One who is more pro-business and who wants to reduce taxes, not raise them.  We have 11 months to make the first positive change to save America. 

Email:  willcooper@senkarik.com

President Obama Bowing to Chinese Premier Wen Jiaboa

Leave a Reply

