Dang, I Didn’t See It Coming!!!

Oil Portrait by Will Cooper

Sunday after church under the big oak I went home with Lex and stuffed on her mother’s home cooking. If that girl can cook like her mother then I’d be really stupid to let her slip through my fingers.  Got home about one, changed and did some chores.  The Twins seemed to have things under control, so I came to the house and worked on finishing up the tax stuff.  I like to get my info to my CPA early.  I decided to do the blog early. After I posted it I went to the barn to check on the horse that took a tumble with me on his back.  He was sore but no noticable limp. Not like me, I hurt all over. When I was twenty a tumble like that would have not affected me, not now. I just plain hurt.

About five one of the Twins came to the house with an angry look on his face.  “Bossman, we got trouble in the south pasture.”  They like to call me Bossman, it’s their inside joke. I guess it’s a Texas thing.

“What do you mean trouble? That is where all the older cows with calves are.”   We separated the older mothers from the younger ones. Normally the old cows don’t give us much birth problems.

Bossman, we have three old mamas crying something awful.  They are crying like they lost their babies.”

We still had a little light left and by the time I reached the barn the other twin had my main mare saddled.  We went at a gallop to the south pasture. It’s the one running alongside the two lane, black topped road. No sooner than we got to the area than those mamas started letting us know their pain.  Had Mexican red wolves killed their babies?  I had not seen a panther in a year. We don’t have black bear. The last time we checked all the babies in the south pasture were strong and healthy.

We located the mothers. Their eyes were wide open and their voices sounded distressed. Their bags were full of milk.  One of the Twins found a spot near the road where deer corn had been poured.  I knew then what happened.  Some lowlife had lured my cows to the fence with the cheap, $5 a bag deer corn.  They managed to grab the three calves and take off with them.  It wasn’t long before we found where they cut the fence wires.

I have a good idea who stole my three babies, but since they are not branded it would be my word against his.  It’s sad we now live in a country were you can’t trust all of your neighbors. Had they come to me for help I’d given them money for food. The guy I think took them lives out on the east side of town on a small farm. He has five sons and four daughters, between 3 and 17.  I’m confident they will fatten up the calves, brand them and sell them at one of the area auctions. My calves are not the only ones he is raising.  We have had a rash of stolen calves in the area this past month.

We worked on repairing the fence till after dark.  Then rounded up the three mothers and brought them to the horse pasture so I can keep an eye on them. It’s sad to see our great country deep in a recession with no signs of recovery. I don’t call hiring 2 million Census workers job recovery.  It may look good for three or four months, but those jobs will be over by June.  People have resorted to stealing. I don’t condone their actions, but I do understand. If I had nine hungry children and faced with what so many down here have in front of them I don’t know what I’d do.  I’d like to think I would not steal, but I’ve never been faced with that temptation.  Some are too proud to beg, so they steal.  I know it doesn’t make much sense, but that is the way it is in my neck of the woods.  email: willcooper@senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

