A Serious Accident

Tractor similar to the one the Twin was on when it rolled on him. I found this image on Google

Yesterday I touched on one of my men being injured.  For those of new to my blog, I employ two full-time men. During round-up and tick dipping time I bring in part-time help.  The two full-timers run the place and let me call myself boss.  They are twins and seventh or eighth generation Texans. I never can get that straight.  The grandfather was one of the Mexicans to sign the Texas Declaration of Independence in 1836.  By the way, they both think the Arizona Law is a great thing.  They hate seeing our country destroyed as much as you do.

I have some large tractors and one old-fashioned small Ford tractor.  It’s a relic, but great for small jobs.  When hauling a wagon full of supplies to the backside of the ranch we usually take the smaller tractor.  It’s too easy to get a pickup truck stuck in this sand.  My ranch is sandy loam. Even a four-wheel pickup will get bogged down.

In a freak accident the Twin flipped the tractor over on his body. He didn’t see an old stump.  The red-hot muffler severely burned his leg and the tractor rolled over on him, breaking one arm in three places. Also looks like one knee is damaged.   When he didn’t show up at quitting time we went looking for him.  The moment we saw his mangled body we knew he was hurt badly.    While his brother made him comfortable I went to the house and called 911. Then I drove the pickup truck back and after we determined he had no back or neck injuries we carefully loaded him into the bed onto some saddle blankets. I drove back very slowly with the other twin’s horse tied to the back while he held his brother’s head in his lap.

I insisted he go stay with his brother at the hospital and I managed the ranch chores. I drove in to see him last night.  He is in great spirits, but clearly in real pain.

He will remain in the hospital for a couple more days so the doctors can monitor his progress.  In the meantime the other Twin and I will double our work load until he returns to work.  Some things will suffer. I may not be able to answer all of your emails or thank you for stuff you send.  I know I won’t have time to post paintings on eBay and still find time to work on the large 30″ x 40″ commissions. I suspect I’ll be too tired to paint.

To be honest I don’t know if I can write any blogs after we begin re-dipping the cattle.  I know the Twin won’t be back working for a few months.  If one morning you log on and I’m not up with a new blog you will know for sure I’m not Superman after all.  Thanks for your support. Please no cards, letters or email.  You can say some prayers. He knows you are wishing him well.  I’ll continue to pay his salary as if he were working every day.

Email:  willcooper@senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

