10.10.10

When the Houston guy sees these he is going to faint.  Since we don’t hunt we have white tail deer in abundance.

This is so neat. Today is 10.10.10.  I read were there are a record number of marriages taking place on this date. Also do you realize there are 5 Saturdays and 5 Sundays this month?  It will be over 800 years before we will have another month with five Saturdays and five Sundays.   What does all this mean?  I don’t have a clue. (smile)

Another mayoral candidate was murdered this past week in Mexico. That is 11 mayors in office and several more future mayors killed.  Like this most recent murder of a candidate. Then there have been others waiting to take office who have been murdered. The most dangerous job in the world is that of mayor of a small Mexican town.

Next week Lex is going to meet her parents and take them to see our “new” ranch. It’s really hard to call 450 acres a ranch! We know it’s just a matter of time until the brutal murders in Mexico spill over into the United States. The past 6 months 48 Americans have been murdered in Mexico. Now we can add the 19-year-old student ambushed on a bus and the man killed on a jet ski. That’s 50 Americans killed in six months.

The Santa Fe ranch has been on the market for about two years.  When he saw we were serious and figured we could pay for the place he lowered his asking price.  Another thing we like is the small home for those who help on the place.  We spent some time with his caretaker whose name is Joe.  Joe is an American born Mexican with a house full of kids. Lex and I feel the current owner is not paying Joe enough for what all he does.  Lex calls him ‘Carefree’ Joe. When you look at his face all you see is teeth, he is all smiles.  He told us his wife takes care of the house for the owner.  Joe has been with the ranch since it was built.  Joe saddled up three very nice horses and took us on a tour. The place feels so small after being on my ranch for so many years. I was impressed with the fencing and small lake that never goes dry.

I think I told you we would like to keep a dozen goats,’ bout 40 good cows and my best bull.  We will keep around 6 horses and try to talk the owner into tossing his horses in to sweeten the deal.

The ranch owner is coming out to Santa Fe to meet Lex and her family. I’m going to let her dad do the deal making. He is wise when it comes to trading. Since my property is a lot closer to Houston we think we can do some land swapping.  My father-in-law thinks 1,500 acres of my land for his place and then sell him the rest of the land. He is going to stop here on his way to see them in Santa Fe.  I’ll meet him at our small airport and show him the ranch. I’m going to make sure he sees some of my white tail deer. I suspect he will want to sell deer leases.  We’ve got some monster bucks.  I just hope he doesn’t have a heart attack when he sees some of my bucks. (smile)

Lex is scared and really wants to get away from the border. I agree with her. I’m pressing 49 and getting too old for gun battles.

Will and Lady Lex

Leave a Reply

